‘Fro Chronicles: Tracee Ellis Ross Opens Up About The Journey To Loving Her Natural Hair

Love her in the new Essence Mag…and in general…Black-ish is the shit..I can’t wait til I can get a DVD box set of it and Girlfriends!

Global Grind

46th NAACP Image Awards - Nomination Announcement and Press ConferenceTracee Ellis Ross‘ curly afro has been a beacon of hope for many naturalistas out there. However, it turns out the former Girlfriends and now Black-ish star has not always had the warmest feelings towards her hair.

In a new interview with Peoplemagazine, Tracee speaks about the not-so-easy road to loving her mane. From perming to using beer, the actress tried it all before finally giving in to her natural locks.

On her journey to loving her ‘fro, she says:

“It was a long journey from childhood. For so many years I was trying to beat my hair into submission, trying to get it to look like someone else’s hair and I didn’t know how. I remember going through a phase where I even put beer in my hair, because I was told that would make it smooth and curly.”

On trying to chemically straighten it:

“Definitely…

View original post 389 more words

Leave a Reply

