Why Marley’s performance at Smile Jamaica matters

Some nice readings about the Man- The Legend-Robert

Midnight Raver

“Me always in exile. Fe me Rastaman is man in exile. I am known in Jamaica and ’em shoot after me but nobody don’t know who me kept it a secret. Somebody shoot after me. Me not afraid a people like that. You know why? ‘Cos me know I don’t do anything wrong. But me not afraid ‘cos if people attack me one time them never ever will do it again. What me stand for me always stand for. Jah is my strength.”

Bob Marley, London, 1977

As my Jet Blue flight from Washington, DC to Jamaica touches down at Norman Manley International Airport, I can’t help but consider what it must have been like here in Kingston, Jamaica thirty eight years ago today – December 5, 1976. It is a day that still lives in the hearts and minds of the Jamaican people and one which would forever change…

View original post 1,626 more words

Leave a Reply

